Skip to content

China Cabinet

February 5, 2013

This China Cabinet belonged to my husband’s parents and I coveted it before I knew about Stickley, Arts and Crafts or Mission furniture.  My in-laws actually had quite a lot of Stickley furniture, they had purchased it as a young married couple and they still had the bill of sale for several pieces. The China Closet has no mark but I was so happy to get it. The contents, my blue and orange or yellow china collection, is described in the previous posts. The top is host to an eclectic assortment – some carved gourds, two little animals – one pottery from South America one carved soapstone one from Africa that are facing each other on the right, two birds fashioned from seeds, a wooden bird, a bowl my husband made when he was a child, a Redware plate from Pennsylvania given to us by my husband’s brother, a couple of eggs in stands, also in a stand a carved walnut, a collectible Kelvin Chen teapot given to me by my sister, an Italian coffee pot that belonged to my parents, a fertility symbol from Africa that we bought in Stockbridge MA from a store that was going out of business, and a print of a red guitar on a metal “picture frame” fashioned from an old red truck given to us by the nephew on my husband’s side. Above the China cabinet a print by Dane Tilghman – part of our paintings of musicians collection and two blue guitars. Under the China Cabinet is a silverware box also inherited from my husband’s parents.

IMG_20130204_161328

From → Collecting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

