Skip to content

Curating My Pinterest Boards

April 17, 2013

I am visiting my daughter and new granddaughter and I have been spending my downtime doing what Melissa Taylor (in her book Pinterest Savvy: How I Got 1 Million+ Followers) calls curating my Pinterest boards.

Pinterest for the uninitiated involves creating and naming “boards” and “pinning” pictures (often with links to the net) to them. The curator can upload new pictures or “repin” pictures others have pinned.

Choosing the appropriate board for pinning and repinning can be more challenging than you would think. For example, where does a basket full of polka dotted felt hearts with a button
ornaments go? Felt Projects, Hearts and Stars, Polka Dots and Stripes, Button Up, Collections, or Christmas?

Some pinners dodge this curating challenge and pin to multiple boards which is pretty annoying to those who “follow” them. I pick the one that seems most appropriate figuring that if I can’t find it on the most logical board I’ll just look on the next most logical – which when I think about it is the way I organize things in my real life as well as my virtual one.

From → Collecting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

