Skip to content

Oh my Maya!

July 13, 2013

On Thursday I went to the Norman Rockwell museum to see the Disney Snow White exhibit and attend a lecture on Fairy Tales by Ruth Bottigheimer. Both were very interesting but also fascinating was the glimpse I got of Maya IV by Jarvis Rockwell. Since the exhibit hadn’t opened yet, I only got to peek at what the museum describes as “a vast toy-embellished pyramid inspired by Hindu temples adorned by sculptural deities”.

image

From my position behind the guard ropes, I saw that it held many action figures and an Indian matryoshka doll set. The exhibit opens today through October 20 and I will definitely schedule a trip to further examine the pyramid that, in Jarvis Rockwell’s words, “support(s) the toys, the representations, or material gods and goddesses of our society”.

From → Collecting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

