Skip to content

Miscellaneous Spring

April 6, 2024

As soon as I saw a cute snowdrop made from an egg carton on Instagram (@stillundherz), I wanted to make one, but it took us a while to empty an egg carton.  When we did, I made two, and they were perfect additions to the dining room Spring trees.

My Brooklyn niece gave us some honey for Christmas this year and I saved the jars because I thought they’d be perfect to use for a Spring scene with some of the fairy garden figures I bought at a dollar store a while ago.

My Seattle niece also gave us honey for Christmas  – from France! I’ve been saving those small jars as well. I think I might be able to create scenes in them as well with the tiny equinox frogs from last year.

I hadn’t come across any frogs this year, so a few days before the equinox, I stopped in at the plant store on the way home from the gym to see if they had any, and I found some glow in the dark ones. It’s so fun to see the tiny little lights in the middle of the night. The one on the right is the one that appeared on the toothbrush holder on the morning of the equinox. And there is one of the tiny frogs from last year hanging out with him.

Our spring decorations ended up in the same places as previous years for the most part, but I added a new display. We have far too many eggs for the egg tree, so I arranged the leftovers in the bowl from Nonotuck Jen.

Speaking of eggs, we tried a new way of dyeing them this year. We made a paste of baking soda, water, and food coloring and “painted” the eggs with it. Then we poured vinegar over the eggs – lots of fizzing and eggs that looked tie dyed.

Here’s my Easter “basket” – a yellow bird and a plate with purple flowers which is covered with Easter grass right now. I’m not sure where they’ll end up yet.

I found this metal egg at Marshall’s for my husband’s basket. It has a different picture on the other side and was filled with several different kinds of chocolate.

We had a great Easter – strawberry pancakes and treats for breakfast and our traditional Italian Potato Casserole (topped with chopped hard boiled eggs) and hot cross buns (crosses added by one of our favorite guests) for an early dinner. 

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment